Father’s Day Arts & Crafts

Today we had a play date at our house to make some art projects for Fathers Day. We had 5 mommies and 8 little ones over. Everyone ended up making different projects and they all turned out wonderful. The kids had a blast painting and then playing. I can post these before Father’s Day because I know Cade won’t read this.
IMG_20140612_144924600
This is the first of Everlyn’s projects she made today. We made her footprint look like a minion from Despicable Me. I painted the top of her foot blue and the bottom yellow and placed it on paper. I glued on google eyes and once it was dry I added the glasses, hair, mouth, arms and legs.

IMG_20140612_144825864
For her second project, we made a hanging picture frame. I used blue painters tape to tape the word “Da Da” onto thick foam board. She finger painted the board and then when it was dry I pulled off the tape and used a spray adhesive to attach the picture. You can also use regular glue. I just taped a piece of yarn on the back so it could be hung.

IMG_20140612_144254748
The last project Everlyn did today, which is not really for Father’s day, but just to keep her busy while the other kids were still working on their projects, is a finger painting with a heart. I just used the painters tape to tape the heart and removed it after she was done painting. It is now hanging on our fridge.

IMG_20140612_145256
One of our friends used the painters tape to write DAD with an Alabama A in the middle and had her little girl paint around it. She removed the tape and wrote Happy Fathers Day in the letters.

IMG_20140612_145224
Another of her friends put a handprint and footprints on a canvas and then wrote “We’re as lucky as can be” around them.

I didn’t get to take pictures of all the art, but some of our friends were very creative. One girl used her sons footprint to make a fish on a blue background and wrote “Hooked on Daddy” around it.

Another friend wrote “DaDa” at the bottom of a foam board and used her sons handprints to create a beautiful textured background.

We made some great projects for the dads but more importantly we had a lot of fun. The kids ranged in age from 3 months to 8 years and the projects were fun for all of them. I can’t wait for Cade to see his homemade gifts. I know he will love them.

Leave a comment